Throwback Thursday: We Got It For Cheap Vol. 1

We Got It For Cheap Cover

This past week on The Bodega Clement and I were discussing how Pusha T is one of the most consistent rappers in the game. I mentioned how I’ve never listened to the We Got It For Cheap tapes and was berated off air. So I’m gonna join y’all in this throw back.

This is the first volume in the We Got It For Cheap series. This mixtape was released in 2004, two years after The Clipse’s debut album, Lord Willin’. The tape features Pusha T and Malice, Ab-Liva, Sandman, and Pharrell.

This is an old school mixtape in the current game, in the sense that it makes use of other emcee’s beats. Some of the beats used were from Snoop Dogg, Nas, Jin, Jay-Z and some original production by The Neptunes.

01 Pusha – Intro
02 Pusha, Sandman, Liva, Pharrell – Youll See
03 Pusha, Liva, Sandman – Coast To Coast
04 Pusha – Interlude
05 Liva, Pusha, Sandman, Malice – I Shot Ya
06 Liva, Pusha, Sandman – Re-Up Anthem
07 Pusha, Sandman, Liva, Malice – You Know My Style
08 Pusha – Interlude
09 Malice, Liva, Sandman – Drop It Like Its Hot
10 Liva, Pusha, Sandman – Niggas Know
11 Pusha, Liva, Sandman – Stay From Around Me
12 Hassan – Interlude
13 Clipse – Studin Yall
14 Pusha – Interlude
15 Sandman – Radical (Solo Freestyle)
16 Liva – Dont Let Me Die (Solo Freestyle)
17 Pusha – Interlude
18 Sandman – Just A B-Boy
19 Pusha – Interlude
20 Liva – The Sermon
21 Liva, Sandman – Nothing Like It
22 Liva, Pusha, Sandman, Malice – Queen Bitch
23 Liva, Pusha, Sandman, Malice – Cross The Border
24 Pusha, Malice, Liva, Sandman – Pussy (rmx)
25 Pusha – Outro

Download: We Got It For Cheap Vol. 1

Video: Nothing To Lose ft. Nas – K’Naan

This one comes from K’Naan’s More Beautiful Than Silence EP.
I’m not gonna lie the first thing that popped into my head after watching this video is “Oh so now you wanna rep for T.O?” All that aside this gives an interesting glimpse into the connection made between Nas and K’Naan and some great shots of Toronto.

Video: Nothing To Lose (Feat. Nas) – K’Naan

Canada’s K’naan is back after his huge success with the Haiti relief track, Waving Flag with a 5 track EP entitled More Beautiful Than Silence thats scheduled to be released January 24th. The track everyone (well, me at least) wanted to hear off the project called Nothing to Lose that features Nas was decided to be the first video released. The rest of the tracklist is below:

K’NAAN – More Beautiful Than Silence

1. “Is Anybody Out There” (ft. Nelly Furtado)
2. “Nothing to Lose” (ft. Nas)
3. “More Beautiful Than Silence”
4. “Better”
5. “Coming to America”